Make Your Brain Smarter: Increase Your Brain’s Creativity, Energy and Focus by Sandra Bond Chapman with Shelly Kirkland 

download

I picked up this audiobook, Make Your Brain Smarter, as one of my long road trip companions. As usual, anything with the words “Brain” and “Smarter” in the title gets my immediate attention. I found this book extensive and complex in exploring the brain’s frontal lobe process (cognitive domains) and enhancing it’s brainpower as your own C.E.O. or Cognitive Entepreneurial Officer. It is one of those audiobooks where you have to start taking notes from the get go and even pause to digest all the information. It deserves a dedicated second listening without any distractions. It covers in- depth how to improve your cognitive performance through strategic thinking ( brainomics) on new learning, content absorbtion, project design and implementation, problem solving, breakthrough thinking and sound desicion making.

  1. Strategic Attention:  focusing on one topic, avoiding multi-tasking and other tasks which depletes brain power. I quickly realized this as one of my crutches since I multi-task my life a lot and which I thought it was one of my best personality asset.
  • Brain Power of none: getting some time alone, meditate and reflect on the task at hand.
  • Brain Power of one: taking one task at the time. Make sequential progress and not multi-tasking.
  • Brain Power of two: selecting two of the most important task at hand.

2. Integrated Reasoning:  incorporating and applying information. I found this insightful in the way I gather information,             facts, solutions and how I set my priorities and goals.

  • Zoom in: getting the facts, do the logistics
  • Zoom out: step back to see the bigger picture, bigger ideas, different strategy.
  • Zoom deep and wide: becoming a tactical thinker; when and when not to do something.

3. Innovation: changing old ways and experimentation. I realized this is my current stage though I must go back and see         everything from a different perspective difined in the book to make sure I stay focused, relevant to my goals and not             running around like a chicken with the head cut off.

  • Imagination: infinate subjects, solutions and concepts
  • Paradox: having the tenacity to follow through and not get stuck. Reflect-Reframe-Learn from mistakes
  • Unknown: Ask-Seek-Be Courious

There is much to do to improve my brain’s health fitness.  I found myself pausing the audio- tracks and even going back to previous chapters to better grasp the material. It pays to give full attention to this audiobook. Better yet, get the book instead😉

Here is a well written summary  by Lauren O’Neil via Learning and the Brain blog, which does a better job describing what this book is all about. Enjoy!

Source: Make Your Brain Smarter: Increase Your Brain’s Creativity, Energy and Focus by Sandra Bond Chapman with Shelly Kirkland – Learning and the Brain blogLearning and the Brain blog