The Willpower Instinct

image

Willpower Instinct by Kelly Mcgonigal. Let’s go deep into willpower to see if there’s validity on its truth on whether I’m powerless over my weaknesses  or just plain excuse to justify my addictive personality. Actually  BOTH!

Things to consider:

Commitment instead of progress. “Why am I doing this?”

Self indulgence is self sabotage

Remember the WHY as in WHY I’m doing this.

Instant gratification or long term reward?

Moral- licensing : justifying or saying that it’s right or ok to do something despite of knowing that is not by comparing with something else that feels right

Delayed gratification

Mandatory 10 minutes rule to curb temptation.  When the need to self, imidiate gratification arises,  wait 10 minutes and ask the question of wanting it again afterwards.

1. Ask yourself weather what I’m going to do now will have repercussions in the future?

2.  Is it worth it instant gratification now or should I wait for the big reward later?

3. will all be happy with this decision in the future?

Think current happiness? Over long term rewards?

Giving in? Or sticking out?

Reframe the situation and  outcome. Is this your spending in or investing in?

Burn the ship- the Cortez tale . When Cortez sailed to conquer new lands, he burned his ships to send a message to his men that there will be no turning back. Only going forward. Keep in mind for goal setting and determination.

Mandatory 10 minutes delay. See your  future self… it’s neither a stranger nor a superhero. It’s still your present you!

Concentrate on positive actions of what I want and not what I don’t want. Enable positive talk rather than prohibition or can’t do or have talk.

Surfing the urge. A skill that builds overtime.  Feel it but don’t automatically give in. Ride the urge, feeling all the sensations when temptations or cravings come in. Be aware, accept what’s happening.

1. Wait, stay put, sense the craving before acting out.
2. Breathe
3. Ask what I really want at the end

The foundation of self control:

1.Self awareness
2.Self care
3.Remembering  what matters most

It’s impossible to prevent what comes into our mind. All we can do is to chose what to believe we can do.

What is happening in my environment that is shaping my behavior? Ads, marketing trends, tv, people, peer pressure?

New Willpower definition: self awareness is the one step I can always count on to help me deal with what is difficult and what matters most.

Check out The Willpower Instinct on hoopla digital.
https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11212837 #hoopladigital