Helping others without judging

image

 

It was a beautiful afternoon and I was on my way back to the hotel when saw a man in a wheelchair coming out of the woods. As I passed by, saw that he was having trouble getting onto the sidewalk.  I turned around thinking that he will probably spend the rest of the day right there on that spot if no one helps him. It was all clear when I got to him. He was slumped  on the wheelchair head facing down like he couldn’t move. I asked him if he needed any help and he nodded his head slightly. Like a good Boy Scout, I identified myself and told him I was going to help him. I had to lean him almost flat on his back to get him out of that rut. He started to slur something I couldn’t understand. I though he said he needed help but almost toppled forward shaking his head when I told him I was going to call 911. He slurred he was drunk and opened one his palms. He was holding some change while gesturing me for something. I told him I had no change. He then slurred with great difficulty he wanted vodka while rotating his chair forward, pointing like a compass, across the road. There it was, the liquor store right across the road. All I could do was to laugh. We said God bless to each other and I walked away thinking that it is not right for me to judge anyone but to help them. God will take care of the rest. I’m glad that I stopped and helped…well, at least to get him back to where he was going.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Era una tarde preciosa y estaba de regreso a mi hotel cuando observe un hombre en una silla de rueda saliendo de un area boscosa. Al pasar note que tenía dificultad para moverse. Pensé que si nadie lo ayuda, probablemente pasará el resto del dia exactamente donde esta. Di ka vuelta y me pare a ayudarlo. Cuando me le acerqué, confirmé lo que pensaba. El estaba tirado en su silla de ruedas su cabeza inclinada hacia abajo. Parecía que no se podía mover. Le pregunté si necesitaba ayuda y el movió su cabeza un poco.  Como un buen Boy Scout, me identifique y le dije que lo iba a ayudar. Para sacarlo de donde estaba tuve que inclinarlo hacia atras para empujar la silla hacia adelante. El comenzó a balbucear algo que no entendía. Supe luego que necesitaba ayuda pero el por poco se cae de frente negando su cabeza cuando le dine que iba a llamar a emergencias. Balbuceo de nuevo que estaba borracho y abrió una de sus palmas de la mano. En ella tenía poco cambio mientras trataba de decirme algo. Le dije que no tenía cambio. Fuen entonces cuando el me dijo que lo que quería era Vodka mientras rotaba su silla de ruedas hacia adelante, como una brújula, apuntandofb hacia la calle de frente.
Alli adelante, cruzando la calle se encontraba la tienda donde venden licor. En ese momento lo unico que pude hacer fue echarme a reír. Que Dios te bendiga, le dije y el me contestó de la misma forma. Regrese a mi carro pensando que no es mi derecho el juzgar a otros, solo me toca ayudarlos. Dios se encargará del resto. Me alegro que me pare y lo pude ayudar…bueno al menos a ayudarle a donde quería ir.

image