Review of Conversations with God

This is my review of Conversations with God by Neale Donald Walsch. It is the third book of the trilogy.  In this audio book, the author talks with God, which is presented in both male and female voices to avoid any gender orientation that identifies God as one gender only. He asks questions to God, questions that I or any other person seeking answers will ask. It develops in a sort of dialogue between God and the author in a casual tone. Very compelling stuff. God explains the concepts of the Universe and the concept of time. The conversations goes into deep subjects like evolution, suicide, death, abortion as well as relationships and other social and spiritual concepts. Heavy stuff to digest here: God explains that it was man who created all that we believe in or were taught by in the Bible and throughout history. This knowledge has been passed down to generations as “law” and thus generally accepted in our cultural society for centuries. God clarifies that He does not punish people. All that HE does is to LOVE. I believe this is true because I cannot believe that my God punishes people. Never believed in it and never will.  In truth is very complicated material to easily understand in just one listening. Perhaps we will never understand it because of our limited capacity to comprehend things that we do not see. For example, the battle of Good Vs. Evil. This concept was created by man to instill FEAR and guilt to humanity.  Fear as we know it stands for False Experiences Appearing Real. Man created many concepts we, as a society, take as being truth to create fear, control and manipulate others particularly the weak. Mankind has gone to war because of fear; people have died because of fear. Another example is the devil. There is no devil as it was something man also created to create fear. It gets heavily into religion here and get this EVIL spells LIVE backwards. Very clever stuff indeed. The mind starts to swirl trying to understand this as if it was something I heard for the first time. The choice is mine to believe whether is true or not obviously. I could easily dismiss it, holding on to my beliefs taught by my parents and teachers but I kept an open mind.  It goes on and on deep into esoteric subjects.  As I listened to the dialogue between God and the author, I too started to believe and understand. I believed that the purpose of my human experience in this universe is “ to decide and declare, to create and express, to experience and to fulfill who I really am”. I believe that my basic instinct is fairness, oneness and love not survival instinct as man had declared since the beginning of “time”.  The dialogue went into re-incarnation saying that God didn’t make us to live only one life in this vast Universe. So, death is just a transition to a better life and we can re-incarnate in whatever we want to. This I believed because for every person that dies a baby is born. Then the dialogue turns into even more complex subjects such like the Divine Dichotomy. I found this to be contradictory to what I believe and challenge the logic as we know it but it is possible. Basically a dichotomy is a situation in which two apparently contradictory experiences; evidences or truths seem to be existing harmoniously at the same time in the same space. Mind boggling to say the least.

To summarize 8 hours of listening, these are my key points that I will live by and pass on to my kind:

  1. I express not equality among others but uniqueness among all living things.
  2. I am a steward of good on earth to share with others not an owner of things to keep.
  3. “If you want something in your life, give it away”. Life is not for getting, life is for giving.
  4. Act as if I am the other person I wanted to be, as if I have everything I want. I am the only one responsible for not attracting that of what I want which I already have. There is enough for everybody and I don’t have to do any more than being what I am right now.
  5. All is ONE. We are all one soul in this entire Universe with God as one and one with God.
  6.  The way to get there is to BE there.
  7. Problems are processes, experiences created by us one way or another. Everything has a purpose, a reason. Nothing is random or coincidence in life. We have one way or another “caused” or created this experience and at the end everything will turn out the way God intended to whether we understand it or not. It is meant to happen so let it happen.

This was a review of book three of Conversations with God. I will review it again to catch up on points that I may have missed the first time and can’t wait to listen to book one and two. I have many questions that need answers.