Promise Yourself

Inspiration and motivation can come when you least expect it. I sat in my office this morning going over the publishing details of my first book “YOU Improved”. The book is on the final stage of cover design and on time for its release by the end of this year. I printed a copy of the cover layout and post it on the bulletin board in front of my desk. This board serves me as a reminder of change and improvements in my life, thoughts and random notes that I can see daily. One of them is a motivational poem by Christian D. Larson, also known as The Optimist Creed. I like it because it’s short and very powerful especially when is read just when you need it and for me it was this morning.

Promise Yourself

Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can
disturb your peace of mind.

To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to
every person you meet.

To make all your friends feel like there is
something in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything and make your
optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for the best,
and expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others
as you are about your own.

To forget the mistakes of the past and press on the
greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful countenance at all times and give
every living person you meet a smile.

To give so much time to the improvement of yourself
that you have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, and too
strong for fear, and too happy to permit the
presence of trouble.

It got me moving this morning, affirming that I will, I am and I have been doing what I need to do, to be where I want to be and to have what I want in my life. Print this motivational poem, post it somewhere you can read it daily and promise yourself that you can do it and that you will do it.