Just for today

It’s been several weeks since I started to practice not to pass judgment on others. It is easier to be said than done; one of the most difficult things I am doing because everywhere I go, there is an excuse to pass judgment on others. From the moment I wake up, get on my car, drive through town and everything else, I see reasons to critique or merely say or even ponder my opinion about this and that. However, I realize that passing judgment is filtering my prejudices and values on others and decided not too long ago to take on the challenge and abstain from passing judgment. I recently listened to Change Your Thoughts Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao by Dr. Wayne Dyer. In this audiobook he narrates Lao-tzu’s 81 verses of the Tao Te Ching. I highly recommend Dr. Wayne Dyer’s work and suggest taking one verse of the Tao te Ching a day and practicing it. I am particular captivated by verse 55 of the Tao Te Ching: Living by letting go. In summary it suggests that “I am open to allowing what needs to happen and I trust God for guidance”. That is how I interpret this verse and how I intend to practice. Again, it is easier to say than done. One way that is helping me to carry out this is a personal say or affirmation I tell to myself every time I have the thought of passing judgment which is every time. I learn this from listening to Brian Tracy’s “Eat that Frog” audiobook and it says: “Just for today I _______________”. I use this to say “just for today I will not pass judgment on others”. Being aware when the excuse to pass judgment occurs allows for the opportunity to catch myself in the act and carry out immediately with my new mantra. That way I get closer and aligned with the way of the Tao, Carlos’s Tao.