Years of change, growing up

5 years ago I left my full time, corporate secured job to go on my own. It was a turning point in my life. I was at the point of hitting the glass ceiling where I was and any career advancement at the super company I was working for was at that point slim to none. To move up the ladder I needed more studies, more experience and so on. I was tired of looking outside and wishing for something better, I was tired of working a 9 to 5 job that was leading me to nowhere. The company I worked for was not just any company; a major defense contractor, my old job had all the ratings of a reputable, stable company with all the perks that go along with it. Just mentioning the name of the company brings a meaning of pride and honor to their employees and those who wish they work there. I couldn’t compliant of the employee benefits, excellent health plan and even the flexible working schedule. It was nice to have those perks and that job security feeling but I wanted something else. My internal gyroscope was gravitating towards change, something better, freedom to do whatever I want, whenever I want and at my own terms. That felt right within me and after some organization and planning, I said goodbye to Corporate America and went to start a business on my own. It was a turning point in my life indeed.

At that same defining moment in my life there was another even more significant event that transformed my life forever. During the time I quit my job was the same time that my wife and I were welcoming our first born baby girl. When I held my baby and saw the treasure God has given to us to love and care, it was the push that I needed to make my decision and quit my job for good. Most people would say that I was crazy to quit a stable, secure job when good jobs are hard to find and keep for that matter but they would gasp in horror when they learned I quit my job when we just had a baby, another mouth to feed. I was bombarded with questions from the entire family and friends sector, asking me why I’ve done such a regrettable mistake and reciting all the bad things waiting for me in the self employment aisle. But I never hesitated; I had my fears but I was determined to succeed and I had all the motivation I needed  every time I looked at my daughter. It was a leap to the unknown considering the circumstances at that time, but now looking back 5 years later, it was the best decision I ever made. Thanks to that decision, I grew, I improved, and I evolved in the person I am today.  I look at my daughter now 5 years old and she is such a big girl, so excited to go to Kindergartner and even riding the school bus. I looked back at everything we have gone through together as a family, how much she has changed my life for the better and how much she has grown as a little person.  If I can summarize what is the best thing I got out of this deal, I would say is the quality time I get to spend with my family and that is priceless. It took me almost that much time to figure out how the never ending process of parenting and working operates together and improve it, but just being available to her and my family when they needed me, that is, knowing what are my priorities to me was well worth the effort.

Now I feel the winds of change moving my gyroscope yet again. With the welcoming of our baby boy just few months ago our family is complete and moving on to new things, new perspectives,  exploring new opportunities and adjusting the direction of our sails.  The circumstances have changed but the priorities remains the same and as our children continue to grow, we grow too.