GMAN’s 13

I have been reviewing a book called “Life’s Missing Instruction Manual, The Guidebook You Should Have Been Given at Birth” by Joe Vitale. I found it to be both thought provoking and inspiring. Unlike everything material we purchase, we come to this world without instructions, no owner’s manuals, operating procedures or “how to” guide. It always has been this way for ages and generations. We were raised by the traditions and values our parents taught us and the generations before us and thus we pass these onto our children and so on. I would have never considered this notion of having instructions to live a healthy life of love, gratitude, compassion, prosperity and life skills until I became a parent. Since then I’ve been thinking what I would tell my children to prepare them for life, the lessons, principles and experiences to help them to become a better person. After listening to Joe’s guide, I decided to write what has served me well over the years, based on my experiences and what I value.

I have hundreds of notes that I have written over time in any piece of paper I had available. Many of my lessons in life and past experiences I wrote them down and save them for future reference not thinking really that I will use them later. I committed over time to transfer those thoughts, lessons and experiences from paper to a digital document and was surprised by the amount of information I collected over the years.  I am glad that I did this and here is my guide of values that I will pass on to my children so they can understand its meaning and use them while writing their own manual.

So here they are in no particular order, GMAN’s 13:

  1. Live life to the fullest and in your own terms. It is better to say “ I am glad I did it, than I wish I had”.
  2. Treat others as you want to be treated. Be kind and compassionate with others.
  3. Always behave as if someone is always watching you. Act with integrity, be polite and respectful.
  4. You are in control of your life and its outcome. Never say I can’t. Try it and then decide if it is for you or not.
  5. You are responsible for your actions. Be accountable. When in doubt go back to # 3.
  6. Share abundance, be grateful, pay it forward, give without expecting anything in return and life will repay you dearly.
  7. Believe that you can Be, Do and Have anything you want in life. Do your part to make it happen.
  8. See the opportunities in problems, what is the lesson learned? Be solution driven.
  9. Take care of yourself mentally, physical, emotional and spiritual. You are what you think as well as what you eat.

10.  Live life in constant and never ending improvement to become a better person, brother, or sister, friend, husband or wife, Mother or Father.

11.  Love unconditionally, forget without resentment, appreciate, be thankful and be the first to say I’m sorry when you’re wrong.

12.  If fallen in love, make sure you’re loved back sincerely. Always express your feelings.

13.  Family relations are important as it will surround your life and the life of yours forever. Appreciate them, listen to their advice and be respectful. Go back to #2 and #3 whenever needed. This is golden.

There are too many to list, many lessons and experiences I have endure and appreciate. I am thankful for being aware of these and for making it part of me. The list can and will be modified over time as nothing is permanent and I can add, condense or totally re-do my list as I see it fit. I am doing this with the intention that my children will follow through with the values, lessons and experiences that have served me and I know it will serve them as well, I will make sure of that. Also so they can use it, live it and modify it as they see it fit in their lives and pass it on to their children all through generations.