The Chronicles of Ian Karlo: circumcision affair

My son is 11 days “young” and growing faster by the minute. His skin has started to shed, his eyes now more open, tuning into his surroundings and he is on a very demanding feeding schedule to satisfy his ferocious appetite. His newborn folds on his body are starting to stretch and fill up; soon he will be so cute a cuddly to eat him with kisses. We are living every moment of his life with joy and gratitude.

Being a boy, we considered having him circumcised within the first week of his life. It is traditional in our culture for a boy to get circumcised. My parents did it, their parents and so on back, so getting my boy circumcised was the next thing to do.

We set up an appointment with the pediatric doctor and arrived early in the morning at the clinic for the procedure. We were led to a room where there was a table set up with what it looks like a bunch of odd tools. The set up resembled a torturing table I see in movies with scary looking stainless steel apparatus carefully placed on either side. My boy was then securely strapped down on the “circumstrap” contraption and given sugar on a swab. Doctor says that sugar works better than morphine for pain on babies and my son was sucking on it like it was his Mom’s bosoms and didn’t let go. Then the doctor went to work, skillfully performing a procedure that dates back hundreds of years. He used tools that really resembles primitive tools used in medieval times. My son didn’t feel a thing at first and he won’t remember this but I will. I didn’t watch the procedure, but my wife did and even took pictures…the nerve of her! I sat in a corner writing this piece, humming silly songs and occasionally glancing at the table wincing at the sight of what was happening in front of me. I’m not a good sport at these things, I admit. Luckily for my son and for me as well, the procedure was over in a matter of minutes. He will feel pain for a short time and the area needs to be cared for proper healing. I shook hands with the doctor for a job well done. It was a relief that it was all over and can side by my son comforting him. His cry was a different cry, of pain and I felt it. There, there son, is all over, I said, everything will be alright while reassuring myself that it was indeed OK. We are glad that we did it and now it is over. You won’t remember this I whisper in his ear and you will thank us later in life.