Qualities of a Leader, a Hero’s Creed

I saw this note during one of my housing inspections, worthy of sharing and emulating. It was a senior community; the note was posted on the bathroom’s vanity mirror of this person’s apartment.

It reads like this,

For 30 days, first thing in the morning, last thing at night, by yourself, in front of the mirror, stand up straight, square your shoulders, look in the eye and quietly, firmly say in the first-person present tense,

“I ________________, am a person of integrity with a good attitude and specific goals. I have a high energy level, am enthusiastic, and take pride in my appearance and what I do. I have a sense of humor, lots of faith, wisdom, and the vision, empathy and courage to use my talents effectively; I have the character and am knowledgeable. My convictions are strong and I have a healthy self- image, passion for what is right, and a solid hope for the future.”

I am an honest, sincere, hard-working person. I am tough but fair and sensitive. I am disciplined, motivated, and focused. I am a good listener and patient, but take decisive action. I am bold and confident, yet humble. I am an encourager, a good-finder, and a forgiving person. I am caring, unselfish and committed. I am a family-oriented, open minded, and an excellent communicator. I am a student, teacher, and a team player. I am personable, optimistic and organized. I am consistent, considerate and resourceful. I am intelligent, competent, persistent and creative. I am health-conscious, “balanced” and “clean”. I am flexible, punctual and thrifty.”

“I am an honorable person who is truly grateful for the opportunity life has given to me. These are the qualities of a winner I was born to be and I fully intend to develop these marvelous qualities with which I have been entrusted. Tonight I am going to sleep wonderfully well. I will dream powerful, positive dream. I will awaken energized and refreshed, and tomorrow is going to be magnificent”.

Powerful isn’t it? To me it is this person’s own version of self identity reprogramming.  It has all the qualities and attitudes of a hero, a leader, a winner, a happy person. Clearly this person wants to improve, is determined to succeed and it is consistent with his goals.

The first and second paragraphs is a declaration of who this person is and will be, in first person, as if already happened because these qualities have been entrusted to this person ( I AM) and does not talk in past tense of who he was. The last paragraph is a call for action, a promise to him/her because he/she is grateful of the opportunities life has given and will continue to offer.

I was very impress, this is a senior after all, whom has lived life and whom generally one would think as at its end of his /her lifetime, just going with the flow. Instead this person decided that anytime is good to improve self and what better time than right now, while enjoying life. How could I not give myself the opportunity to change to who I want it to be. How could I resist not upgrading my current version of me for as new, improved version of me so when I meet my maker, He will look down at me for the things I have done in my life and will tell him and He will be impressed, I bet you!